Skin Lightener can be Shea Butter

Shea Butter with aromatherapy oil

Sometimes when I visit the grocery store, I spend a little time looking at products. In one of my trips, in the beauty section I discovered a jar with a thick cream called Shea Butter.

I opened a number of the test containers and noticed that some had a nice scent. There were Shea Butters with the essential oils or fragrances of lavender, lemon grass, mango and melon. There was also Shea in its natural unrefined state, with no aroma added. I purchased a few of these jars and begun to use them regularly on my skin and hair according to the instructions on the labels.

Shea butter results from the crushing, roasting, grinding and boiling of the Shea nuts which are also known as Karite nuts. These nuts are primarily from west Africa. It is rich in nutrients such as vitamin A, E and F. These nourish, moisturize and protect the skin.

During one of my recent segments on the “Caminemos Juntos” radio show presented by Interamerican Community Action (ICA), I received a phone call asking about possible solutions for spots on the skin. Since I love the topic of using nature, I did a search on Google seeking ideas for skin protection and prevention of dark spots.

I found that the majority of the articles about Shea Butter describe the natural protection that cinnamic acid provides for the skin. I also found that this thick pasty yellowish or ivory colored product is used around the world for softening the skin and for cellular regeneration. As described, it is the cinnamic acid in Shea Butter that helps prevent the formation of dark spots on the skin. This is natural skin protection against UV-A and UV-B sun rays.

If you decide to use Shea Butter, rub it gently in your hands so that you may apply it more easily to your skin. I found this butter to be a bit thick and I notice that is helps me avoid sun burn when I am exposed to the sun for several hours… It seems that the cinnamic acid works for my skin!

Where can you find Shea Butter? Primarily in health food stores or the Internet. The jars that I have purchased have cost me between $10.00 and $20.00 depending on the size and brand.

To lighten brown spots on your skin, you can apply this recipe that I found on the web page of Al Sears, M.D. Start with 1/2 teaspoon of fresh squeezed lemon, one teaspoon of olive oil (other possible oils may be almond or coconut) and 1/4 teaspoon of honey. Leave this on your skin for ten to fifteen minutes while you are at home.

Continue adding good habits regularly. Maybe Shea Butter can be a part of the care for your skin and hair.

Continue listening to more ideas for adding wellness to your life in the Healthy Equations or Ecuaciones de Salud (in Spanish) segment that is presented in the “Caminemos Juntos” radio show brought to you by Interamerican Community Action (ICA). If you tune in over the Internet, visit www.wpspradio.com or 1190AM 11Q on South Florida radio.

Healthy Equations or Ecuaciones de Salud is broadcast on Saturdays sometime between 8:10 a.m. and 8:45 a.m. The full radio show “Caminemos Juntos” is live every Saturday between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m.

Visit the ICA Facebook page so you may learn about interviews, resources, programs, events, etc. ICA is at http://www.facebook.com/icapbc.

ICA programs are possible thanks to the donations of listeners and the contributions of sponsors.

About angela gracia smith

Angela Gracia Smith is the president of Healthy Equations™, formerly AGS Health Promotion. Angela is an adventurous entrepreneur that travels the world researching strategies for adding health to life. Healthy Equations™ offers programs through radio and television in Spanish that are called Ecuaciones de Salud™. These are interactive programs for wellness that offer ideas for individuals to live life at their best!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Oils, Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skin Lightener can be Shea Butter

  1. Can Shea butter lighting the skin tone.

    • I have read through quite a number of articles. In addition, I have been using shea butter on my skin since 2010. My skin is not lighter. What I find is that it protects it when I play tennis in the sun. All of the nutrients in shea butter appear to offer sunscreen action.

Leave a Reply

